Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Bird Book Club: A Wing and a Prayer

October 26, 2023 @ 5:00 pm - 7:00 pm

A Wing and a Prayer: The Race to Save Our Vanishing Birds Hardcover by Anders Gyllenhaal (Author), Beverly Gyllenhaal (Author)

Thursday, Oct 26th 2023, 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET

Register Here

A captivating drama from the frontlines of the race to save birds set against the devastating loss of one third of the avian population.

Three years ago, headlines delivered shocking news: nearly three billion birds in North America have vanished over the past fifty years. No species has been spared, from the most delicate jeweled hummingbirds to scrappy black crows, from a rainbow of warblers to common birds such as owls and sparrows.
In a desperate race against time, scientists, conservationists, birders, wildlife officers, and philanthropists are scrambling to halt the collapse of species with bold, experimental, and sometimes risky rescue missions. High in the mountains of Hawaii, biologists are about to release clouds of laboratory-bred mosquitos in a last-ditch attempt to save Hawaii’s remaining native forest birds. In Central Florida, researchers have found a way to hatch Florida Grasshopper Sparrows in captivity to rebuild a species down to its last two dozen birds.

For the past year, veteran journalists Anders and Beverly Gyllenhaal traveled more than 25,000 miles across the Americas, chronicling costly experiments, contentious politics, and new technologies to save our beloved birds from the brink of extinction.

Details

Date:
October 26, 2023
Time:
5:00 pm - 7:00 pm
Website:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAvd-ChrTIrHtfZX4lwrSlJkuJ_GC4VyRHz#/registration

Venue

Zoom
View Venue Website