Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BIRD BOOK CLUB: Alfie & Me

March 28 @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

Join our online book club session featuring Carl Safina, as he presents his latest book, “Alfie & Me” This virtual event is on Thursday, March 28th, 2024, 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET, and offers attendees an engaging and insightful conversation with Carl. Secure your spot and register.

Our book club is an opportunity to read books, meet the authors, and join others in fun discussions. To join, you must register for each session. Links are provided with upcoming books below.

Alfie & Me by Carl Safina

Thursday, March 28th, 2024, 5pm PT, 6pm MT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET

Register here

When ecologist Carl Safina and his wife, Patricia, took in a near-death baby owl, they expected that, like other wild orphans they’d rescued, she’d be a temporary presence. But Alfie’s feathers were not growing correctly, requiring prolonged care. As Alfie grew and gained strength, she became a part of the family, joining a menagerie of dogs and chickens and making a home for herself in the backyard. Carl and Patricia began to realize that the healing was mutual; Alfie had been braided into their world, and was now pulling them into hers. Alfie & Me is the story of the remarkable impact this little owl would have on their lives.