Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

BIRD BOOK CLUB: Call of the Kingfisher

January 25 @ 12:00 pm - 1:30 pm

Our book club is an opportunity to read books, meet the authors, and join others in fun discussions. To join, you must register for each session. Links are provided with upcoming books below.

Join our online book club session featuring wildlife recordist and composer Nick Penny, as he presents his latest book, “Call of the Kingfisher.” This virtual event is on Thursday, January 25th, at 12 pm MT, and offers attendees an engaging and insightful conversation with Penny. Secure your spot and register.

Call of the Kingfisher by Nick Penny

Thursday January 25th 2024 11 am PT, 12pm MT, 1pm CT, 2pm ET

Register Here

Call of the Kingfisher is the enchanting debut from composer and wildlife recordist Nick Penny. This love letter to a short stretch of Northamptonshire’s River Nene celebrates all the wild things that live there, especially the kingfishers. Uniquely, it comes with bonus audio content to complement the text, accessed via QR codes.

 

Nick has walked beside the river at Oundle for four decades. But for a whole year he gave the waterway all the time it asked for. The more attention he gave it, the more he saw the kingfishers and heard their high whistling calls. Set in a lovely but little-known part of England, Call of the Kingfisher relates a year by the river, the author’s experiences there and the different people he meets.

 

As a composer and wildlife recordist, Nick has a deep interest in sounds in the natural environment. He uses the local landscape and wildlife sounds as inspiration, and brings fresh insights into the sounds of the countryside. The book includes access to a number of high-quality birdsong recordings made alongside the River Nene – audio soundbites of nature’s riches, from kingfishers and nightingales to owls and cuckoos.

 

 

Details

Date:
January 25
Time:
12:00 pm - 1:30 pm
Website:
https://us06web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZAvd-ChrTIrHtfZX4lwrSlJkuJ_GC4VyRHz